AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

For most curbside EV owners, I’d start with the ChargePoint HomeFlex for its established home-charging ecosystem, while the Lectron 40A Weatherproof is a practical pick when outdoor exposure and cable reach matter. The EMPORIA Pro 48A stands out for drivers who can support a higher-power hardwired installation. Choosing among the best curbside EV chargers means balancing charging speed, weather protection, parking distance, electrical work, and whether your car uses J1772 or NACS. A plug-in unit is easier to relocate, but a hardwired charger may suit a permanent outdoor setup better. Read on for the full comparison and guidance on matching a charger to your parking arrangement.

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on garage and car supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
15
compared
12
brands
4
connectors
50A
max amperage
Which curbside EV charger should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A
Best for NACS Vehicles
Native compatibility with Tesla and other NACS vehicles
See on Amazon →
J1772 EV and plug-in-hybrid owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want adjustable charging and a long cable
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger
J1772 connector works with a wide range of North American EVs and plug-in hybrids
View on Amazon →
J1772 drivers who need a portable charger for curbside parking and travel across different outlet types
2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger
Supports Level 1 and Level 2 charging
View on Amazon →
J1772 EV owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want high-output charging at an outdoor parking spot
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40A
40A output delivers up to 9.6kW
View on Amazon →
J1772 EV owners whose curbside outlet is close to the car and who want WiFi scheduling and remote monitoring
Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger
WiFi and app control support remote monitoring and scheduling
View on Amazon →
Amperage — compared
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A40A
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger16A–32A
2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger8A–16A
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40A40A
Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger40A
MSI EZgo Type140A
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E50A
Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charg40A
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger48A
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger40A
Aimiler Level 2 Electric Vehic32A
Pros & cons at a glance
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A
✓ Native compatibility with Tesla and other NACS vehicles
✗ Requires a dedicated 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger
✓ J1772 connector works with a wide range of North American EVs and plug-in hybrids
✗ Weather guidance excludes direct sunlight and heavy rain, limiting exposed curbside use
2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger
✓ Supports Level 1 and Level 2 charging
✗ 16A maximum output is slower than the 32A and 40A Level 2 alternatives
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40A
✓ 40A output delivers up to 9.6kW
✗ Tesla vehicles require an adapter that is not included
Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger
✓ WiFi and app control support remote monitoring and scheduling
✗ 16-foot extension cord is shorter than the 25-foot alternatives
MSI EZgo Type1
✓ Portable design includes a carrying case and multiple power cords
✗ The 120V input specification conflicts with the stated 9.6kW output, so supply compatibility needs clarification
Rippleon Level 2 EV Charger
✓ Stated 48A, 11.5kW output is the highest specified power in this group
✗ Professional installation is recommended and adds planning requirements
Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Cha
✓ NEMA 14-50 plug supports a simpler installation path than a hardwired unit
✗ Requires a suitable 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet
EVDANCE Level 1 and Level 2 Po
✓ Supports 120V Level 1 and 240V Level 2 charging
✗ Maximum output of 3.84kW is well below the 9.6kW plug-in alternatives
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E
✓ Mobile app control and access to an extensive charging network
✗ Requires a suitable 40A or 50A circuit for optimal performance
ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Am
✓ 25-foot cable offers extra reach around a curbside parking position.
✗ Tesla vehicles require a separate NACS adapter.
Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charg
✓ Up to 9.6 kW charging power and 40A output support faster charging than Level 1 equipment.
✗ Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet and cannot be hardwired according to the supplied product details.
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger
✓ 48A output offers more charging capacity than the 40A ELEGRP, Lectron, and EVIQO.
✗ Professional installation may be needed for an appropriate setup.
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger
✓ App supports charging schedules, current adjustment, and energy tracking.
✗ Requires a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet.
Aimiler Level 2 Electric Vehic
✓ 32A output provides up to 7.68 kW, more capacity than Level 1 charging.
✗ Not recommended for direct sunlight or rain, limiting use in exposed curbside locations.

Complete the kit

USANOOKS Microfiber Cleaning Cloth Grey - 12 Pcs (12.5"x1...
USANOOKS Microfiber Cleaning Cloth Grey – 12 Pcs (12.5"x1…
Add to your setup →
HOMEXCEL Microfiber Cleaning Cloth 12 Pack, 12.5 x 12.5 i...
HOMEXCEL Microfiber Cleaning Cloth 12 Pack, 12.5 x 12.5 i…
Add to your setup →
AIDEA Microfiber Cleaning Cloth-50PK, Microfiber Towels f...
AIDEA Microfiber Cleaning Cloth-50PK, Microfiber Towels f…
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • Parking access matters as much as amperage: The listed cable lengths range from 16 feet on the Lectron WiFi model to 25 feet on several portable units, so measure the route from outlet or installation point to the car’s charge port.
  • Most plug-in picks share a 40A ceiling: Many models use a NEMA 14-50 plug and offer up to 9.6 kW, while the Rippleon and EMPORIA Pro are 48A hardwired options for homes equipped to support them.
  • Weather exposure changes the shortlist: The Lectron 40A listing explicitly identifies weatherproof construction; outdoor buyers should verify the exact unit’s ratings, mounting, and connector storage before purchase.
  • Connector compatibility is not interchangeable: Most options here use J1772, while the Tesla-branded charger uses NACS; buyers should confirm their vehicle’s inlet and any adapter requirements.
  • Portable does not mean curbside-ready by itself: A portable charger still needs a safe, code-compliant power source near the parking space, and cable reach or a household extension cord cannot solve an unsuitable electrical layout.
2
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger
Best Value for J1772 Curbside Charging
1
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A
Best for NACS Vehicles
3
2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger
Best for Low-Power Curbside Charging

Our Top Best Curbside EV Chargers Picks

Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A – Plug-in NEMA 14-50 240V EV ChargerTesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A - Plug-in NEMA 14-50 240V EV ChargerBest for NACS VehiclesCompatibility: Tesla NACS and other EVs with NACS portsAmperage: 40AVoltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Portable Home Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable and Adjustable CurrentEVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Portable Home Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable and Adjustable CurrentBest Value for J1772 Curbside ChargingPower: Up to 7.68kWVoltage: 240VAmperage: 16A–32AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVs2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVsBest for Low-Power Curbside ChargingCompatibility: J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybridsAmperage: 8A–16AMaximum power: 3.84kW at 16AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V, 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Station with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current, Delay Timer, J1772 CompatibilityEVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V, 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Station with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current, Delay Timer, J1772 CompatibilityBest for Fast J1772 Curbside ChargingVoltage: 240VAmperage: 40AMaximum power: 9.6kWVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) – 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 16 ft Extension Cord – Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVsLectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) - 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 16 ft Extension Cord - Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVsBest for WiFi MonitoringConnector: J1772Input voltage: 240VAmperage: 40AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
MSI EZgo Type1 (J1772) Portable EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, Level 1/2, GrayMSI EZgo Type1 (J1772) Portable EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, Level 1/2, GrayBest Portable High-Power PickConnector: Type 1 SAE J1772Stated maximum output: 9.6kWAmperage: 40AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Rippleon Level 2 EV Charger – Hardwired, 48 Amp, 11.5 kW, 240V, UL2594, ETL, FCCRippleon Level 2 EV Charger - Hardwired, 48 Amp, 11.5 kW, 240V, UL2594, ETL, FCCBest for High-Output Curbside InstallationPower: 11.5kWVoltage: 240VCurrent: 48AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50P, 9.6kW, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth ControlUpgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50P, 9.6kW, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth ControlBest Plug-In Smart Curbside ChargerPower: 9.6kWCurrent: 40AVoltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVDANCE Level 1 and Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 25 ft Cable, 12A 120V / 16A 240V, J1772EVDANCE Level 1 and Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 25 ft Cable, 12A 120V / 16A 240V, J1772Best Lightweight Travel and Backup PickConnector: J1772Current: 12A at 120V; 16A at 240VMaximum power: 3.84kWVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 – NEMA 14-50 PlugChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 PlugBest App-Connected Established Network PickOutput voltage: 240VInput voltage: 240VAmperage: 50AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Extension CableELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Extension CableBest for Flexible Outdoor PlacementCharging power: Up to 9.6 kWCurrent settings: 16A, 20A, 24A, 32A, 40AVoltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, 23ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, WeatherproofLectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, 23ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, WeatherproofBest for Certified Everyday ChargingCharging power: Up to 9.6 kWAmperage: 40AVoltage: 240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 Amp Fast Home Charging Station with J1772 Connector and 25′ CableEMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart - 48 Amp Fast Home Charging Station with J1772 Connector and 25' CableBest for Higher-Power Smart ChargingAmperage: 48AInput voltage: 240VConnector: J1772VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 240VEVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 240VBest Smart Plug-In PickAmperage: 40AVoltage: 240VConnector: J1772VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Aimiler Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger with Wi-Fi App, 32A, 25ft Cable, ETL Certified, 220V-240V, NEMA 14-50P Plug, J1772 Connector, Portable for Home UseAimiler Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger with Wi-Fi App, 32A, 25ft Cable, ETL Certified, 220V-240V, NEMA 14-50P Plug, J1772 Connector, Portable for Home UseBest for Moderate-Capacity App ChargingAmperage: 32ACharging power: Up to 7.68 kWVoltage: 220–240VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
curbside EV chargerConnectorAmperageCable lengthVoltage
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A—40A25 ft240V
EVDANCE Level 2 EV ChargerJ177216A–32A25 ft240V
2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger—8A–16A——
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40AJ177240A25 ft240V
Lectron Level 2 J1772 ChargerJ177240A——
MSI EZgo Type1Type 1 SAE J177240A——
Rippleon Level 2 EV ChargerJ1772 with NACS adapter—25 ft240V
Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV ChaSAE J1772—25 ft240V
EVDANCE Level 1 and Level 2 PoJ1772—25 ft—
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EJ177250A——
ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40AmJ1772—25 ft240V
Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV ChargJ177240A23 ft240V
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV ChargerJ177248A25 ft—
EVIQO Level 2 EV ChargerJ177240A25 ft240V
Aimiler Level 2 Electric VehicJ177232A25 ft220–240V

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A – Plug-in NEMA 14-50 240V EV Charger

    Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A - Plug-in NEMA 14-50 240V EV Charger

    Best for NACS Vehicles

    View Latest Price

    For a curbside setup serving a Tesla or another vehicle with a NACS port, this charger avoids the J1772 adapter requirement built into the EVDANCE 40A J1772 model. Its 40A output and 25-foot cable offer useful reach and overnight charging capacity, while WiFi adds remote control and scheduling. The sealed NEMA 4 housing supports outdoor placement, and the glow-in-the-dark holster helps when plugging in after dark. Those details make it a more curbside-oriented choice than the lower-powered, travel-focused 2026 Level 1&2 charger. The tradeoff is a narrower fit: J1772 vehicles need an adapter that is not included, and installation depends on a dedicated NEMA 14-50 outlet. I’d choose it for NACS convenience, not as the most universal option.

    Pros:
    • Native compatibility with Tesla and other NACS vehicles
    • 40A charging and a 25-foot cable suit regular home charging
    • Sealed NEMA 4 housing is specified for indoor or outdoor use
    • WiFi control and a glow-in-the-dark holster add practical curbside convenience
    Cons:
    • Requires a dedicated 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet
    • J1772 adapter is not included for non-NACS vehicles

    Best for: Tesla and other NACS-vehicle owners setting up a weather-exposed charging spot near a NEMA 14-50 outlet

    Not ideal for: Households with J1772-only vehicles that want to charge without buying a separate adapter

    • Compatibility:Tesla NACS and other EVs with NACS ports
    • Amperage:40A
    • Voltage:240V
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:WiFi, 2.4 GHz
    • Housing:Sealed NEMA 4
    • Certifications:UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose this for a curbside NACS setup with WiFi control and weather-resistant housing, but skip it if your household relies on J1772 vehicles.”
  2. EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Portable Home Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable and Adjustable Current

    EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Portable Home Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable and Adjustable Current

    Best Value for J1772 Curbside Charging

    View Latest Price

    The EVDANCE 32A is a straightforward fit for a curbside outlet when J1772 compatibility and cable reach matter more than app features. Its 25-foot cable can accommodate a parking spot that sits some distance from the outlet, and adjustable current settings let owners match charging to their electrical setup. Compared with the EVDANCE 40A model, it gives up peak power and the larger display, but its 7.68kW maximum is a sensible middle ground for routine home charging. Its weather-resistant build is useful outdoors, although the product is not recommended for direct sunlight or heavy rain—a real limitation for an exposed curbside installation. Tesla drivers also need a separate adapter. I’d pick it over the lower-power 2026 portable charger when a 240V outlet and faster charging are available.

    Pros:
    • J1772 connector works with a wide range of North American EVs and plug-in hybrids
    • 25-foot cable offers flexibility when the outlet is not beside the parking position
    • Adjustable 16A–32A current supports different charging needs
    • LED display provides real-time charging information
    Cons:
    • Weather guidance excludes direct sunlight and heavy rain, limiting exposed curbside use
    • Tesla vehicles require an adapter that is not included
    • One-year warranty is shorter than the three-year coverage listed for the Tesla NACS charger

    Best for: J1772 EV and plug-in-hybrid owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want adjustable charging and a long cable

    Not ideal for: Drivers whose charger will sit in direct sun or heavy rain, or Tesla owners without a J1772 adapter

    • Power:Up to 7.68kW
    • Voltage:240V
    • Amperage:16A–32A
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connector:J1772
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50P
    • Compatibility:J1772 EVs and most North American EVs and plug-in hybrids
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Choose this for adjustable, 25-foot J1772 charging at a sheltered curbside outlet, not for a fully exposed installation.”
  3. 2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVs

    2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVs

    Best for Low-Power Curbside Charging

    View Latest Price

    This portable charger makes the most sense when a curbside parking spot has access to ordinary household outlets or a compatible 240V receptacle, and charging speed is secondary. Its Level 1 and Level 2 support, with NEMA 5-15/5-20 and NEMA 6-20 plugs, gives it more outlet flexibility than the NEMA 14-50-only EVDANCE 32A. The 25-foot cord, carry case, and IP65 rating also suit travel or a parking spot exposed to weather. The limit is output: at up to 16A and 3.84kW, it will charge more slowly than either EVDANCE Level 2 charger. The LCD offers live information, though its interface may take some getting used to. I’d rank it for adaptable, lower-power curbside use rather than drivers seeking rapid overnight replenishment.

    Pros:
    • Supports Level 1 and Level 2 charging
    • 25-foot cord helps reach a vehicle parked away from the outlet
    • IP65 waterproof rating suits outdoor and travel use
    • Carry case makes storage and transport easier
    Cons:
    • 16A maximum output is slower than the 32A and 40A Level 2 alternatives
    • Tesla vehicles need an adapter that is not included
    • LCD interface may be less straightforward for some owners

    Best for: J1772 drivers who need a portable charger for curbside parking and travel across different outlet types

    Not ideal for: High-mileage drivers who need faster charging than a 16A, 3.84kW unit can provide

    • Compatibility:J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids
    • Amperage:8A–16A
    • Maximum power:3.84kW at 16A
    • Cord length:25 ft
    • Plug types:NEMA 5-15/5-20 and NEMA 6-20
    • Weather resistance:IP65
    • Display:LCD
    • Warranty:2 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose this when outlet flexibility and portability matter more than charging speed at your curbside parking spot.”
  4. EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V, 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Station with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current, Delay Timer, J1772 Compatibility

    EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V, 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Station with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current, Delay Timer, J1772 Compatibility

    Best for Fast J1772 Curbside Charging

    View Latest Price

    Among these five, this EVDANCE is the strongest fit for J1772 drivers who want 40A, 9.6kW charging and a cable long enough for a set-back parking position. Its adjustable current and delay timer give owners more control over charging than the simpler EVDANCE 32A, while the IP66 rating and stated operating range of -22°F to +122°F make it the more convincing choice for an exposed curbside location. A large TFT display also makes charging information visible at the unit. The tradeoffs are physical size and compatibility: at 11.64 pounds it may be awkward to stow, and Tesla owners need an adapter. Compared with the NACS Tesla charger, it offers higher stated weather resistance but lacks native NACS support.

    Pros:
    • 40A output delivers up to 9.6kW
    • IP66 waterproof design is suited to demanding outdoor conditions
    • 25-foot cable helps reach curbside parking positions
    • Adjustable current, delay start, and TFT display add charging control
    Cons:
    • Tesla vehicles require an adapter that is not included
    • 11.64-pound weight and bulky form may be inconvenient to store or carry
    • Requires a suitable 240V supply and NEMA 14-50 outlet

    Best for: J1772 EV owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want high-output charging at an outdoor parking spot

    Not ideal for: Drivers seeking a compact portable unit or native compatibility with a Tesla or other NACS vehicle

    • Voltage:240V
    • Amperage:40A
    • Maximum power:9.6kW
    • Connector:J1772
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50P
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Weather resistance:IP66
    • Operating temperature:-22°F to +122°F
    • Weight:11.64 lb
    Our verdict
    “Choose this for fast, weather-resistant J1772 charging at a curbside spot, provided you can accommodate its size and outlet requirement.”
  5. Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) – 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 16 ft Extension Cord – Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs

    Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) - 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50 Plug, 16 ft Extension Cord - Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs

    Best for WiFi Monitoring

    View Latest Price

    The Lectron suits curbside charging when WiFi monitoring and app control matter more than a long reach from the outlet. It matches the EVDANCE 40A on stated output at 9.6kW and serves J1772 vehicles, with scheduling and real-time monitoring adding remote oversight. That connectivity separates it from both EVDANCE chargers, which emphasize display-based controls rather than WiFi in the supplied details. The main compromise is its 16-foot extension cord: it is substantially shorter than the 25-foot cables on the other options here, so the outlet needs to be close to the vehicle. It also has a narrower fit than the NACS Tesla charger, since Tesla drivers need a compatible adapter. I’d choose it for app-connected control at a nearby outlet, not for a distant or hard-to-reach curbside space.

    Pros:
    • WiFi and app control support remote monitoring and scheduling
    • 40A, 9.6kW output matches the higher-powered option in this group
    • J1772 connector supports standard J1772 EVs
    • Portable design includes a carrying case
    Cons:
    • 16-foot extension cord is shorter than the 25-foot alternatives
    • Tesla and other NACS vehicles need a compatible adapter
    • Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet for the described setup

    Best for: J1772 EV owners whose curbside outlet is close to the car and who want WiFi scheduling and remote monitoring

    Not ideal for: Drivers who need a 25-foot reach, native NACS compatibility, or a charger specified for harsh outdoor exposure

    • Connector:J1772
    • Input voltage:240V
    • Amperage:40A
    • Power:9.6kW
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50
    • Extension cord length:16 ft
    • Connectivity:WiFi
    • Form factor:Portable
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Lectron if you want WiFi scheduling for a J1772 vehicle and your curbside outlet is within its 16-foot reach.”
  6. MSI EZgo Type1 (J1772) Portable EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, Level 1/2, Gray

    MSI EZgo Type1 (J1772) Portable EV Charger, 40A/9.6kW, Level 1/2, Gray

    Best Portable High-Power Pick

    View Latest Price

    For curbside charging where a permanently mounted station is impractical, the MSI EZgo pairs a portable format with a stated 40A, 9.6kW output and a carrying case. Its J1772 connector suits many North American EVs, while the included multiple power cords offer more flexibility than the plug-specific EVDANCE 12A/16A portable charger. The IP66 weather-resistant design and safety protections are useful when the unit may be carried or used outside, and the display makes operating status easier to check.

    The tradeoff is that the listing’s 120V input specification does not clearly explain how its full 9.6kW output is achieved, so buyers should verify the supported supply and cord setup before purchase. It is also bulkier than a simple travel charger and, like the ChargePoint HomeFlex, is not a DC fast charger. Choose it for flexible AC charging, not roadside rapid charging.

    Pros:
    • Portable design includes a carrying case and multiple power cords
    • Stated 40A and 9.6kW output offers more charging capacity than lower-amperage travel chargers
    • IP66 weather-resistant construction suits varied conditions
    • Display, LED indicators, safety protections, and a two-year warranty
    Cons:
    • The 120V input specification conflicts with the stated 9.6kW output, so supply compatibility needs clarification
    • Bulky dimensions may be awkward to store or position in a tight curbside setup
    • Provides AC Level 1/2 charging only, not DC fast charging

    Best for: J1772 EV owners who need a portable charger for occasional curbside use and can confirm access to a compatible higher-voltage supply.

    Not ideal for: Drivers seeking a clearly specified plug-in setup or dependable full output from an ordinary 120V outlet; verify the input and cord requirements first.

    • Connector:Type 1 SAE J1772
    • Stated maximum output:9.6kW
    • Amperage:40A
    • Input voltage:120V
    • Charging levels:Level 1 and Level 2
    • Weather protection:IP66
    • Warranty:2 years
    • Dimensions:15.2 × 15.55 × 6.06 in
    Our verdict
    “Pick the MSI EZgo for portable J1772 charging and weather resistance, but confirm its required supply and cord configuration before relying on its full output.”
  7. Rippleon Level 2 EV Charger – Hardwired, 48 Amp, 11.5 kW, 240V, UL2594, ETL, FCC

    Rippleon Level 2 EV Charger - Hardwired, 48 Amp, 11.5 kW, 240V, UL2594, ETL, FCC

    Best for High-Output Curbside Installation

    View Latest Price

    The Rippleon 48A charger is the output-focused choice here: its stated 11.5kW at 240V exceeds the 9.6kW ceiling of the Upgraded 40 Amp charger and ChargePoint HomeFlex’s listed 50A rating is not paired with an output figure in the supplied specs. That extra capacity can suit drivers whose vehicle and electrical circuit support higher-power Level 2 charging. A 25-foot cable, weatherproof construction, and app control make it better equipped for an outdoor parking position than a basic portable unit.

    Its curbside fit depends on the site, though. The product is described as hardwired, while its specs also mention a NEMA 14-50 plug, so buyers should confirm which installation configuration applies. Professional installation is recommended, and a 48A load calls for suitable circuit capacity. Compared with the plug-in Upgraded 40 Amp, Rippleon offers more stated power but brings a more involved installation decision.

    Pros:
    • Stated 48A, 11.5kW output is the highest specified power in this group
    • 25-foot cable offers useful reach from an outdoor mounting point
    • Wi-Fi app management adds remote control options
    • UL2594, ETL, and FCC certifications are listed
    Cons:
    • Professional installation is recommended and adds planning requirements
    • Hardwired description and NEMA 14-50 plug specification leave the installation format unclear
    • Higher output is useful only if the vehicle and circuit support it

    Best for: EV owners with a dedicated outdoor parking spot, a compatible high-capacity electrical circuit, and a vehicle that can use higher-rate Level 2 charging.

    Not ideal for: Renters, drivers who need a moveable curbside charger, or anyone without a confirmed installation plan and circuit capacity.

    • Power:11.5kW
    • Voltage:240V
    • Current:48A
    • Connector:J1772 with NACS adapter
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Installation:Described as hardwired; specs also list NEMA 14-50 plug
    • Certifications:UL2594, ETL, FCC
    • Weatherproof:Yes
    Our verdict
    “Choose Rippleon for a fixed outdoor setup that can support 48A, but confirm the exact wiring option and circuit requirements before buying.”
  8. Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50P, 9.6kW, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth Control

    Upgraded 40 Amp Level 2 EV Charger with NEMA 14-50P, 9.6kW, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth Control

    Best Plug-In Smart Curbside Charger

    View Latest Price

    This charger makes a practical middle ground for curbside parking near a suitable outlet: the NEMA 14-50 plug avoids the hardwired installation path described for Rippleon, while 40A and 9.6kW provide more stated output than EVDANCE’s 16A portable model. Its 25-foot cable helps bridge the distance from an outdoor outlet to a vehicle, and IP65 protection supports outdoor use when the unit is installed and handled as directed. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth app control add scheduling and monitoring, while adjustable current gives owners some flexibility around their electrical setup.

    The convenience depends on having a correctly installed 240V NEMA 14-50 receptacle; plug-in does not mean outlet-free. App features also depend on wireless connectivity, and the J1772 connector means Tesla drivers need an adapter. Compared with the more powerful Rippleon, this is the simpler plug-in fit, but it tops out at a lower stated output.

    Pros:
    • NEMA 14-50 plug supports a simpler installation path than a hardwired unit
    • 40A, 9.6kW output exceeds the EVDANCE 16A portable charger’s stated capacity
    • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth app control with adjustable current
    • IP65 weather protection and a 25-foot cable
    Cons:
    • Requires a suitable 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet
    • Full app features depend on Wi-Fi or Bluetooth connectivity
    • Tesla charging adapter is not included

    Best for: J1772 EV owners with a properly installed outdoor NEMA 14-50 outlet who want app features without a hardwired charger.

    Not ideal for: Drivers without a 240V receptacle, Tesla owners who do not have a compatible adapter, or buyers who prefer controls that do not rely on wireless connections.

    • Power:9.6kW
    • Current:40A
    • Voltage:240V
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50P
    • Connector:SAE J1772
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and Bluetooth
    • Weather protection:IP65
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose this model for smart, plug-in Level 2 curbside charging if you already have a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet.”
  9. EVDANCE Level 1 and Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 25 ft Cable, 12A 120V / 16A 240V, J1772

    EVDANCE Level 1 and Level 2 Portable EV Charger, 25 ft Cable, 12A 120V / 16A 240V, J1772

    Best Lightweight Travel and Backup Pick

    View Latest Price

    For curbside charging where outlet access may change, the EVDANCE portable charger prioritizes portability and broad voltage flexibility over speed. It works at 12A on 120V or 16A on 240V, includes a NEMA 6-20 plug and a 6-20-to-5-15 adapter, and packs into a carry bag. That makes it easier to move between locations than the 40A MSI EZgo or the plug-in Upgraded 40 Amp, though its 3.84kW maximum is much lower than either charger’s stated 9.6kW.

    The 25-foot cable, LED status and error indicators, and IP66 housing add useful detail for travel or backup use. The limitation is outlet fit: the included plugs cover specific receptacles, not every curbside power source, and some setups need another adapter. Tesla drivers need a separate J1772 adapter, and the listed vehicle compatibility should be checked. Its one-year warranty is shorter than the Upgraded charger’s three years.

    Pros:
    • Supports 120V Level 1 and 240V Level 2 charging
    • Includes a 25-foot cable, carry bag, and LED status and error display
    • IP66-rated housing and safety monitoring
    • At 7 pounds, easier to carry than the larger MSI EZgo
    Cons:
    • Maximum output of 3.84kW is well below the 9.6kW plug-in alternatives
    • NEMA 6-20 and included adapter limit outlet compatibility
    • Tesla vehicles require a separate adapter, and warranty coverage is one year

    Best for: J1772 EV and PHEV owners who want a lightweight backup charger for travel, workplace outlets, or occasional lower-speed curbside charging.

    Not ideal for: Drivers who rely on fast daily charging, need compatibility with many outlet types, or want a longer warranty and high Level 2 output.

    • Connector:J1772
    • Current:12A at 120V; 16A at 240V
    • Maximum power:3.84kW
    • Charging levels:Level 1 and Level 2
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Plug types:NEMA 6-20; 6-20 to 5-15 adapter included
    • Weight:7 lb
    • Weather protection:IP66
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Pick EVDANCE as a portable backup for varied 120V and 240V locations, not as a fast primary charger for daily curbside use.”
  10. ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 – NEMA 14-50 Plug

    ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug

    Best App-Connected Established Network Pick

    View Latest Price

    The ChargePoint HomeFlex suits curbside parking that has a dedicated outdoor outlet and benefits from app-based control. Its J1772 connector fits most non-Tesla EVs, and the product description highlights mobile management and access to ChargePoint’s broader charging network. Compared with the Upgraded 40 Amp charger, HomeFlex lists a higher 50A rating and the same general plug-in NEMA 14-50 approach; actual charging speed still depends on the vehicle and correctly sized circuit. Indoor and outdoor installation flexibility can help when the parking location changes or the charger is mounted in a sheltered area.

    The main drawback is that the listed specs do not provide a kW output or cable length, making a direct performance and reach comparison harder than with Rippleon’s 11.5kW, 25-foot specification. HomeFlex also calls for a 40A or 50A circuit for optimal performance, and Tesla drivers need an adapter. This is a stronger fit for buyers who value app and network integration than for those seeking the clearest curbside reach or output figures.

    Pros:
    • Mobile app control and access to an extensive charging network
    • J1772 connector works with most non-Tesla EVs
    • Indoor and outdoor installation options
    • 50A rating and NEMA 14-50 plug support a capable Level 2 setup
    Cons:
    • Requires a suitable 40A or 50A circuit for optimal performance
    • Cable length and kW output are not specified in the supplied product data
    • Tesla vehicles require a separate adapter

    Best for: Non-Tesla EV owners with a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet and circuit who want app control and integration with a wider charging network.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly listed cable length or kW output, lack a 40A or 50A circuit, or want a native Tesla connector.

    • Output voltage:240V
    • Input voltage:240V
    • Amperage:50A
    • Connector:J1772
    • Plug:NEMA 14-50
    • Ports:1
    • Weight:13.8 lb
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose HomeFlex if app control and ChargePoint network access matter more than having the output and cable reach fully specified upfront.”
  11. ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Extension Cable

    ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Extension Cable

    Best for Flexible Outdoor Placement

    View Latest Price

    The ELEGRP’s strongest curbside advantage is its combination of a 25-foot cable and an IP67 weather-resistance rating, which gives more flexibility for reaching a parked car than the Lectron’s 23-foot lead. Its 40-amp output can deliver up to 9.6 kW, while selectable current levels from 16 to 40 amps can help match charging to a compatible circuit. The ETL listing and stated operating range from -21°F to 121°F add useful detail for buyers planning outdoor use. The tradeoff is that this is a straightforward portable charger rather than a connected option like the EVIQO, which adds app scheduling and energy tracking. Tesla drivers also need a separate NACS adapter, and the NEMA 14-50 plug requires a suitable outlet.

    Pros:
    • 25-foot cable offers extra reach around a curbside parking position.
    • IP67 weather resistance and a stated operating range of -21°F to 121°F suit varied outdoor conditions.
    • Selectable 16A, 20A, 24A, 32A, and 40A settings offer flexibility with compatible electrical capacity.
    • Up to 9.6 kW charging power is substantially faster than Level 1 charging.
    Cons:
    • Tesla vehicles require a separate NACS adapter.
    • Requires a compatible 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet.
    • Lacks the app scheduling and energy monitoring offered by the EVIQO.

    Best for: Drivers who park outdoors and need a long cable, weather-resistant housing, and adjustable current for a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet.

    Not ideal for: Tesla owners who want a charger-ready connection without buying an adapter, or buyers who want app-based scheduling and energy tracking.

    • Charging power:Up to 9.6 kW
    • Current settings:16A, 20A, 24A, 32A, 40A
    • Voltage:240V
    • Plug type:NEMA 14-50
    • Connector:J1772
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Certification:ETL
    • Weather resistance:IP67
    • Operating temperature:-21°F to 121°F
    Our verdict
    “Choose the ELEGRP if outdoor reach and adjustable current matter more than app controls or included Tesla compatibility.”
  12. Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, 23ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, Weatherproof

    Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, 23ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug, Weatherproof

    Best for Certified Everyday Charging

    View Latest Price

    The Lectron makes a strong case for buyers who want a certification-heavy 40A charger without stepping up to a smart model. Its listed UL standards and ETL listing provide specific safety credentials, while the 23-foot cable gives useful reach for many driveway or curbside setups. At up to 9.6 kW, it matches the ELEGRP’s stated power, though its cable is two feet shorter and its IP66 rating is below the ELEGRP’s IP67. That difference may matter when comparing exposure protection, but both are positioned for indoor or outdoor use. The Lectron’s simpler feature set also means no app scheduling or energy tracking like the EVIQO offers. It needs a NEMA 14-50 outlet, and its cable may feel cumbersome where parking space is tight.

    Pros:
    • Up to 9.6 kW charging power and 40A output support faster charging than Level 1 equipment.
    • UL2594, UL2231, UL2251, UL817, and ETL credentials are explicitly listed.
    • 23-foot cable supports flexible placement for many parking positions.
    • Weatherproof design is specified for indoor and outdoor use.
    Cons:
    • Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet and cannot be hardwired according to the supplied product details.
    • The cable can be cumbersome in compact parking areas.
    • No app scheduling or energy monitoring is listed, unlike the EVIQO.

    Best for: J1772 EV owners who want a 40A plug-in charger with stated UL and ETL credentials for routine home charging.

    Not ideal for: Drivers with limited space around the outlet, or buyers who need app controls, a longer 25-foot cable, or hardwired installation.

    • Charging power:Up to 9.6 kW
    • Amperage:40A
    • Voltage:240V
    • Cable length:23 ft
    • Plug type:NEMA 14-50
    • Connector:J1772
    • Weather resistance:IP66
    • Certifications:UL2594, UL2231, UL2251, UL817, ETL Listed
    Our verdict
    “Pick the Lectron for a credential-focused, everyday 40A setup when a 23-foot cable and basic operation fit your parking area.”
  13. EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 Amp Fast Home Charging Station with J1772 Connector and 25′ Cable

    EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart - 48 Amp Fast Home Charging Station with J1772 Connector and 25' Cable

    Best for Higher-Power Smart Charging

    View Latest Price

    The EMPORIA Pro is the lineup’s higher-output choice: its 48A charging goes beyond the 40A ELEGRP, Lectron, and EVIQO models, which can suit drivers looking to shorten charging sessions when the vehicle and electrical setup support it. Its PowerSmart load balancing, app scheduling, and energy monitoring also give it more control than those simpler portable chargers. Installation flexibility is another distinction: it supports hardwiring or a NEMA 14-50 plug. For curbside use, though, the supplied details do not state an IP rating or cable weather-resistance rating, so I would verify the installation requirements and outdoor suitability before mounting it in exposed conditions. Its advanced controls and 48A capability bring more setup complexity than a basic plug-in unit.

    Pros:
    • 48A output offers more charging capacity than the 40A ELEGRP, Lectron, and EVIQO.
    • PowerSmart load balancing can help manage charging alongside other electrical loads.
    • App scheduling and real-time energy insights add control beyond basic plug-in chargers.
    • Supports either hardwired installation or a NEMA 14-50 plug.
    Cons:
    • Professional installation may be needed for an appropriate setup.
    • Outdoor protection details are not specified in the supplied product data.
    • Its advanced controls and higher-power installation may be more than a simple curbside charging setup needs.

    Best for: Drivers with a compatible electrical setup who want 48A charging, app monitoring, and load balancing for a regular home parking spot.

    Not ideal for: Buyers seeking the simplest portable curbside charger, or anyone who needs a clearly specified weather-protection rating before choosing an exposed outdoor installation.

    • Amperage:48A
    • Input voltage:240V
    • Connector:J1772
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Installation options:Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
    • Smart features:PowerSmart load balancing, app scheduling, and energy monitoring
    • Dimensions:3 in D x 8.25 in W x 12.25 in H
    • Warranty:3 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the EMPORIA Pro if your electrical setup supports 48A and you value load balancing and app controls over plug-in simplicity.”
  14. EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 240V

    EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger, J1772, 40A, NEMA 14-50, 240V

    Best Smart Plug-In Pick

    View Latest Price

    The EVIQO stands out among the 40A plug-in options by pairing a 25-foot cable with app scheduling, current adjustment, and energy tracking. That makes it more adaptable than the basic ELEGRP and Lectron chargers for drivers who want to schedule charging or keep an eye on energy use without choosing the higher-output, installation-flexible EMPORIA Pro. Its stated UL, ETL, FCC, and Energy Star credentials, plus a three-year warranty, add useful assurance for a fixed home setup. The tradeoffs are practical: it needs a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet, and its app depends on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Buyers also have to plan around the stated 21-pound weight when positioning or mounting it.

    Pros:
    • App supports charging schedules, current adjustment, and energy tracking.
    • 25-foot cable gives more reach than the Lectron’s 23-foot cable.
    • UL, ETL, FCC, and Energy Star certifications are listed.
    • Three-year warranty and a glow-in-the-dark holster are included.
    Cons:
    • Requires a dedicated 50A circuit and NEMA 14-50 outlet.
    • App connectivity requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
    • At 21 pounds, it is heavier than a basic portable charger may need to be.

    Best for: J1772 EV and plug-in hybrid owners who want a 40A NEMA 14-50 charger with app scheduling and energy tracking.

    Not ideal for: Drivers without a dedicated 50A circuit or reliable 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, or buyers who prefer a lightweight, no-app portable unit.

    • Amperage:40A
    • Voltage:240V
    • Connector:J1772
    • Outlet:NEMA 14-50
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz
    • Certifications:UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star
    • Warranty:3 years
    • Weight:21 lb
    Our verdict
    “Choose the EVIQO if you want app-managed charging and a long cable in a 40A plug-in unit, and already have the required circuit and Wi-Fi.”
  15. Aimiler Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger with Wi-Fi App, 32A, 25ft Cable, ETL Certified, 220V-240V, NEMA 14-50P Plug, J1772 Connector, Portable for Home Use

    Aimiler Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger with Wi-Fi App, 32A, 25ft Cable, ETL Certified, 220V-240V, NEMA 14-50P Plug, J1772 Connector, Portable for Home Use

    Best for Moderate-Capacity App Charging

    View Latest Price

    The Aimiler offers a useful middle ground for curbside charging: 32A output is below the 40A ELEGRP, Lectron, and EVIQO, but it still provides up to 7.68 kW according to the product description. That lower capacity may suit drivers who do not need the highest charging rate and want to retain Wi-Fi app control for scheduling and monitoring. Its 25-foot cable matches the reach of those longer 40A alternatives, and adjustable amperage adds flexibility. The main caveat is outdoor placement: the description calls the unit waterproof but also recommends shaded or dry areas and says it is not suitable for direct sunlight or rain. I would not choose it for a fully exposed curbside location; the EVIQO or ELEGRP has clearer stated outdoor protection.

    Pros:
    • 32A output provides up to 7.68 kW, more capacity than Level 1 charging.
    • Wi-Fi app supports remote control, scheduling, and monitoring.
    • 25-foot cable and adjustable amperage provide flexibility for home parking setups.
    • ETL and FCC certifications are listed.
    Cons:
    • Not recommended for direct sunlight or rain, limiting use in exposed curbside locations.
    • 32A output is lower than the 40A ELEGRP, Lectron, and EVIQO.
    • Tesla vehicles require a separate adapter, and app setup may be complex for some buyers.

    Best for: Drivers with a sheltered home parking spot who want a 32A charger, a long cable, and app-based charging controls.

    Not ideal for: People charging in an exposed curbside location, or drivers who prioritize 40A-or-higher output and clearly specified outdoor protection.

    • Amperage:32A
    • Charging power:Up to 7.68 kW
    • Voltage:220–240V
    • Connector:J1772
    • Plug type:NEMA 14-50P
    • Cable length:25 ft
    • Protection:NEMA Type 4
    • Certifications:ETL, FCC
    Our verdict
    “Pick the Aimiler for app-controlled 32A charging in a sheltered parking spot, but choose a model with clearer outdoor suitability for an exposed curb.”
best curbside EV chargers
What makes a great curbside EV charger
1
Measure the Entire Cable Route
Measure from the planned charger position to the vehicle’s charge port with the car parked in its normal spot, then allow room for
2
Check the Electrical Supply Before Choosing Amperage
Do not assume an existing 240V outlet can support every charger at its maximum setting.
3
Treat Outdoor Ratings as a Must-Verify Specification
Outdoor use exposes the charger body, plug, cable, and vehicle connector to rain, dust, temperature swings, and possible impacts.
4
Match the Connector to the Car You Own
Confirm the vehicle’s charging inlet before ordering: this lineup includes mostly J1772 units and one Tesla-branded NACS option.
How to choose your curbside EV charger
1
How we picked
I compared these 15 chargers around the problems curbside owners actually face: reaching a parked car, charging reliably
2
Measure the Entire Cable Route
Measure from the planned charger position to the vehicle’s charge port with the car parked in its normal spot, then allo
3
Check the Electrical Supply Before Choosing Amperage
Do not assume an existing 240V outlet can support every charger at its maximum setting.
4
Treat Outdoor Ratings as a Must-Verify Specification
Outdoor use exposes the charger body, plug, cable, and vehicle connector to rain, dust, temperature swings, and possible
5
Match the Connector to the Car You Own
Confirm the vehicle’s charging inlet before ordering: this lineup includes mostly J1772 units and one Tesla-branded NACS
Vetted curbside EV chargers ·
The best curbside EV chargers, compared
★ Winner Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 40A
Best for NACS Vehicles
15compared
50Atop amperage
4connectors

How We Picked

I compared these 15 chargers around the problems curbside owners actually face: reaching a parked car, charging reliably outdoors, matching the vehicle connector, and supplying enough power without an impractical installation. I gave weight to stated amperage and power, plug-in versus hardwired installation, cable length, weather-related claims, controls, and certification information in the product names. I also separated products by their likely role rather than treating every 40A J1772 charger as interchangeable.

The ordering favors models that appear to balance useful capability with a clear fit for common home setups. Higher-power hardwired units rank as specialist picks rather than automatic winners, since their added output depends on electrical capacity and installation. Products with limited details, shorter cables, or a narrower use case rank lower; listings alone do not establish independent performance or weather suitability, so buyers should confirm current specifications and local electrical requirements before purchase.

Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Curbside EV Chargers

Curbside charging adds a site-planning problem that indoor garage charging often avoids: the car may sit beyond the driveway, sidewalk, or property line. I’d settle the electrical route and parking arrangement before choosing a charger by feature list alone. These factors help prevent a purchase that is electrically compatible but awkward or unsafe to use.

Measure the Entire Cable Route

Measure from the planned charger position to the vehicle’s charge port with the car parked in its normal spot, then allow room for the cable to curve without tension. A listed 25-foot cable can be more useful than a shorter cable even when both chargers offer the same amperage. Check whether the cable can reach either side of the vehicle, since port placement varies by model. Avoid planning around a cable stretched across a public walking path or vehicle route. If the only workable route crosses a sidewalk, ask the local authority or property owner about permitted cable management before buying. A longer cord helps only when the installation itself is allowed and safe.

Check the Electrical Supply Before Choosing Amperage

Do not assume an existing 240V outlet can support every charger at its maximum setting. A 40A charging load generally needs an appropriately sized circuit, and a 48A hardwired unit calls for a suitable dedicated circuit and professional installation. Have an electrician confirm the panel capacity, circuit rating, outlet condition, and permitted load. A charger with adjustable current can help match output to an approved circuit, but it does not make an undersized circuit safe. If your daily driving needs are modest, a properly installed 32A option may be a better fit than paying for electrical work to support more power. The right choice depends on both charging time and the limits of the home’s wiring.

Treat Outdoor Ratings as a Must-Verify Specification

Outdoor use exposes the charger body, plug, cable, and vehicle connector to rain, dust, temperature swings, and possible impacts. Read the exact model’s enclosure and connector ratings rather than relying on a broad “weatherproof” phrase in a product title. The plug and receptacle need protection too; a weather-resistant charger cannot compensate for an exposed or incorrectly installed outlet. Plan a secure place to hang the connector and keep the cable off the ground when charging is finished. If a charger will sit in a publicly accessible area, mounting and tamper resistance deserve more attention than extra app features. Ask the installer to assess the location under local rules before permanent mounting.

Match the Connector to the Car You Own

Confirm the vehicle’s charging inlet before ordering: this lineup includes mostly J1772 units and one Tesla-branded NACS option. A connector adapter may make some combinations work, but buyers should confirm compatibility with the vehicle and charger manufacturers rather than assuming every adapter supports every function. Check whether a future vehicle purchase changes your connector needs, especially if the charger will remain installed for years. Plug-in chargers can be easier to replace or take along, while a hardwired unit is a more fixed part of the home setup. For households with more than one EV, decide whether one connector serves both cars or whether an adapter routine would become inconvenient.

Choose Plug-In or Hardwired for the Site, Not Just Convenience

A NEMA 14-50 plug-in charger can be simpler to remove or relocate, but the receptacle must be correctly installed and suitable for repeated charging loads. Hardwired models avoid a plug connection and can support higher output, yet they require a permanent installation and can be less convenient to move. Curbside placement may also raise questions about conduit routing, wall penetrations, property boundaries, and local permits. Ask for an installation quote before choosing a higher-powered unit; the electrical work can shape the total project more than the charger’s headline specs. If you rent or expect to move, a portable plug-in model may make more sense, assuming there is a compliant outlet where you park.

Decide Whether Smart Controls Solve a Real Problem

Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, scheduling, and current adjustment can help coordinate charging with household routines or utility plans, but they add little if the charger’s signal cannot reach the curbside location. Check whether the app’s functions require an active internet connection and whether basic charging remains available if the network goes down. Scheduling through the vehicle may already cover your needs, making charger-side controls less valuable. For a shared parking setup, access control or clear status indicators may matter more than detailed energy graphs. Compare smart features against the simpler needs of cable storage, reliable connection, and an easy-to-reach charging point. Buy app controls for a defined use, not just because they appear on the feature list.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use a portable EV charger for curbside parking?

Yes, if the charger can reach the vehicle and connects to a suitable, code-compliant power source. Portable describes the charger’s format, not permission to run a cable across a sidewalk or public area. Check local rules, property boundaries, and pedestrian access before setting up a curbside route. Do not use an ordinary extension cord to bridge a gap unless the charger manufacturer and a qualified electrician specifically approve that arrangement. If the outlet is far from the car, a permanent installation may be safer and more practical.

Should I choose a 40A plug-in charger or a 48A hardwired charger?

Choose based on the home’s electrical capacity and your charging schedule, not the amperage number alone. A 48A model can deliver more power only when the service, circuit, and installation support it. A 40A NEMA 14-50 unit may be easier to relocate, but its outlet and circuit still need to be correctly rated for continuous EV charging. Ask an electrician to confirm the available capacity and installation cost before committing. If overnight charging already covers your driving, higher output may not justify the extra electrical work.

How much cable length do I need for a curbside charger?

Measure the real route from the charger or outlet to the car’s charge port, including the path around walls, corners, and parked vehicles. Add a modest amount of slack so the cable is not pulled tight, but do not leave a loop that creates a trip or snag hazard. Consider whether you park nose-in or back-in and whether the charge port is on the side closest to the charger. The 16-foot Lectron WiFi model may suit a close installation, while 25-foot options allow more flexibility at a distance. Longer cable cannot make an unsafe route across public space acceptable.

Will a J1772 charger work with my Tesla or a newer EV?

Check the charging inlet on the specific vehicle and the charger connector before ordering. Most chargers in this roundup use J1772, while the Tesla-branded option uses NACS; an adapter may be needed for some vehicle-and-charger combinations. Confirm that the adapter is approved for the intended AC charging use and supports the charger’s current. Connector standards and vehicle equipment can vary by model year, so verify the owner’s manual or manufacturer guidance rather than relying on a general compatibility claim. For a household with multiple EVs, consider whether sharing one charger will require an adapter every time.

What should I verify before installing an EV charger outside?

Confirm the charger’s outdoor ratings for the exact model, along with the ratings of its cable, connector, plug, and receptacle. Have a qualified electrician review circuit capacity, grounding, mounting, and protection from water or impact. Check whether local permits or rules apply, especially if wiring crosses a property boundary or the charger sits near a public sidewalk. Plan secure cable storage and a location that does not obstruct pedestrians or vehicles. A product listing is not a substitute for an installation assessment at your home.

Conclusion

For the best overall starting point, I’d choose the ChargePoint HomeFlex for a buyer who wants a recognized home-charging system and a J1772 plug-in setup. The best value shortlist is the EVDANCE 32A or Aimiler 32A if their stated output and controls suit your needs and your electrical setup; I would compare cable reach and verified outdoor ratings before deciding. For the best premium route, the EMPORIA Pro 48A fits a home prepared for higher-power hardwired charging, while the best for beginners is a plug-in 32A or 40A model with a clear fit for the outlet and vehicle. For outdoor exposure, look closely at the Lectron 40A Weatherproof listing and verify its exact ratings; for higher output, compare the Rippleon 48A with the EMPORIA Pro. I’d make the final choice only after confirming connector compatibility, cable path, electrical capacity, and local curbside rules.

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

6 Best In-Car Gaming Systems in 2026

Discover the top in-car gaming systems of 2026. Find the best options for durability, ease of use, and entertainment value to keep passengers engaged.

15 Best Wireless Car Dash Cams for 2026

I compared 15 wireless car dash cams on video quality, WiFi performance, and value. See which models earned the top spots and which tradeoffs matter most.

14 Best Car Vacuums for Pet Owners in 2026

Discover the top car vacuums for pet owners in 2026. Our guide highlights the best picks for powerful, pet-friendly cleaning with pros and cons explained.

10 Best Car Maintenance Tool Kits in 2026

Discover the top car maintenance tool kits for 2026. Find the best overall, value, and beginner options to keep your vehicle in top shape. Read more!